Possible UserVariable Bug

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

User avatar
copet80
Posts: 42
Joined: 27 Apr 2010, 22:23
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby copet80 » 08 Feb 2011, 23:16

Is there any update / news on this? We're currently nearing a milestone where we can't move further without this bug being fixed. Looking forward to hearing some good news on this.
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 09 Feb 2011, 09:20

The issue is in the high priority list. As I said earlier we'll get back to you as soon as we have news. Thanks for your patience
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 09 Feb 2011, 10:01

We tested using the current RC1b and your provided application.
No problem found.

Now this is where the problem happens:
6. Player 1 joins Room_A
7. Player 2 joins Room_A
8. Player 2 joins Room_B (note: on Player 1 window, the userManager.getUserList() list shows both Player 1 and Player 2)
9. On Player 2 window, select Player 2 (0, 0) <<< ME (if it's not already selected) and change the x or y values and press Update
10. Player 1 joins Room_B
11. Now you'll notice that on Player 1 window Player 2 still have the old coordinates

We replayed this 3 times, step by step.
At point #11, when Player1 joins in Room B we do see the correct variable values showing in both the global and local room list panels.

I have no idea what you are doing wrong.
Unless you have the wrong server version, which I think I have already asked about.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
User avatar
copet80
Posts: 42
Joined: 27 Apr 2010, 22:23
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby copet80 » 13 Feb 2011, 21:44

Did you try just from step 6 or back to step 1? The problem can only be reproduced by going from step 1 to 11.
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 15 Feb 2011, 14:27

I am sorry, it's my fault. The error is showing up. We'll investigate.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
User avatar
copet80
Posts: 42
Joined: 27 Apr 2010, 22:23
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby copet80 » 18 Feb 2011, 03:36

Hi Lapo, just like to check how the investigation is going. Any news yet?
User avatar
copet80
Posts: 42
Joined: 27 Apr 2010, 22:23
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby copet80 » 01 Mar 2011, 20:19

Hi Lapo, I hope the investigation is going well. Can you please advise when we should be expecting an update?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 02 Mar 2011, 10:01

Yes it is, indeed. We have spotted the issue and solved it. We're still checking a few details but it seems to be working correctly both with our local testa and with the on you have provided.

I will try to send you a quick patch to try locally,

Cheers
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 02 Mar 2011, 10:26

Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
tpenn
Posts: 95
Joined: 03 Aug 2010, 18:48

Postby tpenn » 03 Mar 2011, 18:45

I have been watching this issue with great interest, as I have been encountering the same problem. However, I am using the unity client.

Since the patch here is the flash API, has there been any investigation on if other APIs have similar issues?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 04 Mar 2011, 19:09

Yes we'll propagate the changes on all API versions.
Early next week we should be ready.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
stix
Posts: 9
Joined: 01 May 2010, 15:51

Postby stix » 06 Mar 2011, 14:20

Sorry guys, haven't looked into this issue in a while. I was convinced it was an issue in my client code, so I implemented a workaround and moved on. Glad to see I'm not off my rocker and that the issue was identified.

Thanks copet80 and Lapo!

Return to “SFS2X Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests