DYN DNS name instead of IP

Post here all your questions related with SmartFoxServer .Net/Unity3D API

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

DYN DNS name instead of IP

Postby Robbilie » 05 Sep 2010, 14:58

hey guys i want to know, how i can get it to work that when i enter a dyndns name in the ip fiel that it connects to my server...?

ive read something but i dont understand :D

thanks

Robert :)
tosha96
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 16:25

Postby tosha96 » 05 Sep 2010, 18:59

well I can help you here with a little bit of info I remember from my WOW "emulation" days.. :wink: Basically what a dyndns is for is so that you can mask your ip address. I don't know if your running off your computer or an external server, but its really the same. Go register at http://www.dyndns.com/ , put in your ip address of your server, pick your domain name, and then change your code to connect to the dyndns instead of a ip. Its as simple as that!
Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby Robbilie » 05 Sep 2010, 19:37

maybe its a useful info:

Im behind a router and when i write my ddns in the ip field, it says error jn config file....

Thanks
Robert
Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby Robbilie » 06 Sep 2010, 13:48

hello?

can anyone help me pls?

thanks
Robert :)
tosha96
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 16:25

Postby tosha96 » 08 Sep 2010, 18:48

If your behind a router, your going to have to forward your ports. This site will give you all the info you need: http://portforward.com/
Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby Robbilie » 08 Sep 2010, 18:59

uhhhhh...:(

U dont understand me :(

I can connect to my server from outside but i want to bind my ip to a dyndns domain but when i enter it in the unity ip field it says only ip no domain....

THATS MY PROBLEM!!!

I want to get it work when i type in the domain that it connects.

Pls help me
Hope u understand now ;)

Robert
ThomasLund
Posts: 1297
Joined: 14 Mar 2008, 07:52
Location: Sweden

Postby ThomasLund » 09 Sep 2010, 08:55

It has nothing to do with DynDNS. The magic word is hostnames :-)

Latest API 1.2.6 supports hostnames. Before that you have to use IPs only when using webplayers as Unity crashes firefox when doing hostname lookups.

Check the release notes here:

viewtopic.php?t=8348
Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby Robbilie » 09 Sep 2010, 18:45

yeah i hear that...

Does it work with the demo u gave me?

I dont think so.
Is there a way to make it work?
ThomasLund
Posts: 1297
Joined: 14 Mar 2008, 07:52
Location: Sweden

Postby ThomasLund » 09 Sep 2010, 19:34

Upgrade the sfs dll to the latest version and you are set.
Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby Robbilie » 09 Sep 2010, 19:45

I think u mean the one from the island demo right?

Thanks thomas
Great help ;)

Robert
ThomasLund
Posts: 1297
Joined: 14 Mar 2008, 07:52
Location: Sweden

Postby ThomasLund » 09 Sep 2010, 19:59

I dont know if Marco updated the dll in the demos or now to 1.2.6. Otherwise simply download the latest API here on these pages. That is the one you want and replace the dll

/T
Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby Robbilie » 10 Sep 2010, 19:28

thomas?

XD

No version 1.2.6

In the island demo is 1.2.4

in the net api is it too and in one example therw is 1.2.1 xD

Pls help me :D
ThomasLund
Posts: 1297
Joined: 14 Mar 2008, 07:52
Location: Sweden

Postby ThomasLund » 10 Sep 2010, 20:24

Robbilie
Posts: 190
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 19:48
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

Postby Robbilie » 10 Sep 2010, 20:29

I KNOW!!!

Ive downloades everything today but there are wrong versions everywhere!!
ThomasLund
Posts: 1297
Joined: 14 Mar 2008, 07:52
Location: Sweden

Postby ThomasLund » 10 Sep 2010, 20:47

Not certain I'm expressing myself correctly then or something

* Download the 1.2.6 API
* Take dll
* Put dll into Island Demo

voila. New connect method avaiable

Return to “.Net / Unity3D API”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest