Running Bluebox/Jetty behind Apache

Submit all your BlueBox related questions or report a bug here!

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

ronaldx
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Mar 2010, 19:26

Running Bluebox/Jetty behind Apache

Postby ronaldx » 13 Mar 2010, 19:50

Our server is currently running Apache on port 80 to power our site. The docs recommend running BlueBox/Jetty on port 80 as well.
Jetty can be run behind Apache with mod_proxy or mod_jk. Does BlueBox support this setup? If that's the case, how should BlueBox be configured?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 20217
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 14 Mar 2010, 11:28

I don't really know. Never tried it.
If you do let us know if it works for you, otherwise you could let the BlueBox run on port 443 (if available) or 8080

Thanks
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
rjrelander
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Apr 2010, 20:42

Postby rjrelander » 28 Apr 2010, 20:27

I need to do the same thing. Apache is using ports 80 and 443. Bluebox and jetty work fine on port 8080 but many networks block port 8080 outbound, mainly thanks to the zotob worm if I'm not mistaken. I think zotob and others used port 8080 to connect back to a server for further instructions. Solid networks are going to have most outbound ports locked down regardless.

- Randi
vdatiger
Posts: 11
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 13:13

blue box port

Postby vdatiger » 02 Jun 2010, 09:14

Some information from my case.

We have SFS on port 9339, 10.000. Apache on port 80, Tomcat on 8080.

Our system currently have about 20.000 users and from our statistic, 25% of registered users didn't play anything, they might have the problem connecting to port 9339 or 10.000.

We are going to enable the Blue Box on port 443 (https port, isn't it ?) as mentioned by Lapo.

Does Lapo have any safe port list that we can use ?

Regards
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 20217
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 02 Jun 2010, 10:11

Port 443 (https) and 80 (http) are the best candidates and those that one would expect to be open in the corporate firewalls.
In addition the BlueBox allows the clients to pass through proxies by tunnelling the server requests in http and without the need of a persistent sockt connection
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
vdatiger
Posts: 11
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 13:13

blue box problem

Postby vdatiger » 02 Jun 2010, 15:21

Hi, we are currently running SFS Lobby on port 9339 and SFS Game server on 10.000. We need to change both of these to blue box.

However, in the blue box config file, it has only config for 1 port

serverMode=stand-alone
sfsAddr=10.10.10.1
sfsPort=9339

So does it mean that we can only run 1 blue box for either lobby or game server, am I correct ?

I also made a test on our system, the blue box runs well on 9339 but not 10.000.... :(

Is there any way to run the bluebox for both ?

Please help.
Thanks
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 20217
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 03 Jun 2010, 06:45

Hi, we are currently running SFS Lobby on port 9339 and SFS Game server on 10.000. We need to change both of these to blue box.

I don't understand. The BlueBox is does not substitute the socket connectors it adds more options by accepting connections also via HTTP.
You can keep your server(s) port and add BlueBox support to each machine by buying a BlueBox license for each machine you have (unless you already have done that)

So does it mean that we can only run 1 blue box for either lobby or game server, am I correct ?

Yes, each SmartFoxServer instance has its own BlueBox.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games

Return to “BlueBox”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest