When is Bluebox Needed

Submit all your BlueBox related questions or report a bug here!

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

User avatar
willypow
Posts: 66
Joined: 19 Jul 2008, 16:23
Location: Greenbrae, CA
Contact:

When is Bluebox Needed

Postby willypow » 12 Nov 2008, 23:53

If we plan to run Smartfox on a separate IP address from our web-server then I suppose we could run both Smartfox and the web-server on port 80. Would there be any need for Bluebox in this configuration?

Or if our site does not need SSL and we run the webserver on 80 and Smartfox on 443 on the same IP, would we likely have any need for Bluebox?

I am trying to make sure I am not overlooking something.
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21228
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 17 Nov 2008, 09:07

Sorry for the delay.
If we plan to run Smartfox on a separate IP address from our web-server then I suppose we could run both Smartfox and the web-server on port 80. Would there be any need for Bluebox in this configuration?

Not both.
Only one service can be run on a TCP port. Our recommendation is to put the BlueBox (http) on port 80 and SFS on port 443 (https)
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
User avatar
willypow
Posts: 66
Joined: 19 Jul 2008, 16:23
Location: Greenbrae, CA
Contact:

Postby willypow » 17 Nov 2008, 14:29

Even if they are being hosted on different machines?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21228
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 17 Nov 2008, 14:43

No in that case both can run on port 80.
Simply make sure to specify in your application that the bluebox resides on a different IP address. By default the API assume that the BBox is on the same address of SFS.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
User avatar
willypow
Posts: 66
Joined: 19 Jul 2008, 16:23
Location: Greenbrae, CA
Contact:

Postby willypow » 17 Nov 2008, 14:47

I'm sorry, I am not being clear. I was proposing that the web server was running on a different box than Smartfox. Would there be any need for BlueBox if Smartfox were able to run on port 80?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21228
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 17 Nov 2008, 15:56

Yes, even when running on port 80 a client might not be able to connect if he's behind a proxy server.
The BlueBox creates an HTTP tunnel that allows users unable to establish a persistent connection to use the server with very good (and fully configurable) performance.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
User avatar
willypow
Posts: 66
Joined: 19 Jul 2008, 16:23
Location: Greenbrae, CA
Contact:

Postby willypow » 17 Nov 2008, 17:14

I understand, thanks.

Return to “BlueBox”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest