running Jetty/Bluebox on a different host/IP

Submit all your BlueBox related questions or report a bug here!

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

newbie2008
Posts: 8
Joined: 02 Apr 2008, 21:21

running Jetty/Bluebox on a different host/IP

Postby newbie2008 » 09 Apr 2008, 00:38

Is there anyway for Smartfox to be configured in such a way that when a bluebox connection is required, it actually redirects the request to a different host rather than the same host running on different port?

e.g. server-a.domain.com is running smartfox on port 80.
server-b.domain.com is running bluebox with jetty running on port 80

is there any way for the client trying to connect to smartfox server-a to post a bluebox request to server-b.domain com?

I know BlueBoxPort is a configurable parameter on the client. Is there such a thing as a BlueBoxHost?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 20896
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Postby Lapo » 10 Apr 2008, 12:13

In other words you'd like to put SFS on machine A and BlueBox on machine B? Yes it is possible but you would need a standalone version of the BlueBox which is quite simple to create.

You simply have to download a standalone version of Jetty from here -> http://docs.codehaus.org/display/JETTY/ ... g#download
and copy the BlueBox.war and bluebox.properties in the standalone Jetty webapps/ folder

The bluebox.properties file should be edited like this:

Code: Select all

...
serverMode=standalone

# These 2 are available only in stand-alone mode
sfsAddr=127.0.0.1
sfsPort=9339
...


where sfsAddr and sfsPort are the address and port of SmartFoxServer

NOTE: It is mandatory that both machine A and B are located in the same local network.

Finally on the client side you will have to set the blueBoxIpAddress and blueBoxPort properties to the same values.

HTH
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
newbie2008
Posts: 8
Joined: 02 Apr 2008, 21:21

Postby newbie2008 » 10 Apr 2008, 20:09

Thanks very much Lapo. This is exactly what I was looking for.
User avatar
Bax
Site Admin
Posts: 4472
Joined: 29 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby Bax » 11 Apr 2008, 07:20

Just a side note. If you own a SmartFoxServer+BlueBox license, when moving the BlueBox to a different machine you will have to ask for a license update: write us an email asking to activate the BlueBox for the new IP (while SFS will remain bound to the previous IP).
Paolo Bax
The SmartFoxServer Team

Return to “BlueBox”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest