Can't connect...

Post here your questions about the HTML5 / JavaScript for SFS2X

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

Devon
Posts: 41
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 16:18

Can't connect...

Postby Devon » 19 Jan 2013, 21:00

I just deployed my project to a server running cPanel with Apache as the main web server. I setup SFS in /home/<user> and put the client in /home/<user>/public_html.

With WebSockets on it's default port of 8888, I was able to connect successfully and all worked great. However, I tried to have someone else connect and they were unable to. I asked them to check the log and they had the 'Is the server even running at all?' error message. So, as per the documentation, I tried changing to port to 80, 443, and 8080 but on all 3 of those - it fails to bind. I'm assuming this is because Apache/httpd is already listening on those ports...

So, what are my options?
Thanks,
- Devon
User avatar
Bax
Site Admin
Posts: 4517
Joined: 29 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Can't connect...

Postby Bax » 22 Jan 2013, 09:29

If others can't reach your server over port 8888, I think you have a firewall preventing it.
Paolo Bax
The SmartFoxServer Team
Devon
Posts: 41
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 16:18

Re: Can't connect...

Postby Devon » 22 Jan 2013, 16:41

Well, I was able to connect to the server... It's a VPS with a hosting provider, so it's not on my local network.
User avatar
rjgtav
Posts: 2813
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:31
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Can't connect...

Postby rjgtav » 23 Jan 2013, 17:59

Hi,

It seems that it is the other user's firewall which is blocking the connection. If you ask him to test a flash example, can you confirm through the AdminTool that he's connecting through BlueBox? If he is, then his firewall is blocking the ports by default.
Skills: SFS Pro, SFS2X, AS2.0/AS3.0, Java, HTML5/CSS3/JS, C#
Portfolio: https://rjgtav.wordpress.com/
SFS Tutorials: http://sfs-tutor.blogspot.com/ - Discontinued. Some examples may be bugged.
Devon
Posts: 41
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 16:18

Re: Can't connect...

Postby Devon » 23 Jan 2013, 18:47

I was assuming it was his firewall, which is why I was trying to setup web sockets on one of the default http ports. However, they're already being used by Apache. Hence the reason I'm asking what options I have...
User avatar
rjgtav
Posts: 2813
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:31
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Can't connect...

Postby rjgtav » 23 Jan 2013, 23:57

Well, usually only port 80 and 443 are the only ports which you can assure that are always open.
As you need to run both the webserver and SFS, it is a common practice to run each one on a different machine. It also improves the performance of both servers, with dedicated machines.
Skills: SFS Pro, SFS2X, AS2.0/AS3.0, Java, HTML5/CSS3/JS, C#
Portfolio: https://rjgtav.wordpress.com/
SFS Tutorials: http://sfs-tutor.blogspot.com/ - Discontinued. Some examples may be bugged.

Return to “SFS2X HTML5 / JavaScript API”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest