Unity 3.4 / SFS2x RC1 Tutorial Issues

Post here your questions about the Unity / .Net / Mono / Windows 8 / Windows Phone 8 API for SFS2X

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

maxfelker
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Apr 2011, 22:21

Unity 3.4 / SFS2x RC1 Tutorial Issues

Postby maxfelker » 31 Aug 2011, 16:50

Thomas / Lapo, maybe you could help :?:

Having problems with the tutorial downloaded from the examples page (http://smartfoxserver.com/2X/download.php#examples). Read through a lot of forums and found that people had similar issues but couldn't find a solution.

Specs
----------------------------
Unity 3.4
SFS2x RC1
Windows 7 64bit

When playing the game from the editor, I can successfully login, chat with users etc. The issues is when creating a game.

What happens is this: I click the button, prompted for game details, and I submit. This loads the game scene. I know that the scene is loading successfuly by debugging the Start method on the Network Manager script inside the game scene.

It looks like the Lobby gui doesn't go away and the game GUI shows up ontop of it. I can see a crosshair and GUI text overlays but it just hangs there. No errors produced. Nothing else happens. Then I just have to stop playing the game.

What's the next step in troubleshooting this? Thanks![/b]
appels
Posts: 464
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 02:12
Contact:

Postby appels » 03 Sep 2011, 00:06

Did you check the Unity player logs ?
Do you see any errors in it ?
ThomasLund
Posts: 1297
Joined: 14 Mar 2008, 07:52
Location: Sweden

Postby ThomasLund » 07 Sep 2011, 10:08

If its the FPS demo, then there are 2 things usually causing this
- UDP not enabled
- extension not deployed correctly

Impossible to guess though without some log files.

Generally following the PDF next to the FPS example works for everyone I know - and people not following it wont get it running with more or less those symptoms you explain :-)

/Thomas
Full Control - maker of Unity/C# and Java SFS API and indie games
Follow on twitter: http://twitter.com/thomas_h_lund
alaindumdum
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 18:29

Postby alaindumdum » 09 Oct 2011, 18:44

Hello ,
after many tryings I succeeded to used Smartfox2x
with the SfsFPS tutorial.

I mean that I got a chat with my Linux server :

http://mixed3d.net/unity/WebPlayer.html

But I had to change SimpleChat to GameLobby ,
because it was said "SimpleChat" doent exist.
Indeed , in my admin tool ,
in the "Zone monitor" I have only GameLobby installed.

Please , as I have read tons of docs ,

could you

1- copy for me the scipt to add a room there ,

and

2 -

the adress of the file name for the room extension,
because I had been able to upload the
fpsExtension.jar
in a sfsFps folder ,
but I am lost to have it working.

...
I can be more clear , LOL ,
but as I am new here , I first try to see if someone is around :)

Thanx in advance

server version 2.0.0-RC1
appels
Posts: 464
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 02:12
Contact:

Postby appels » 09 Oct 2011, 23:15

The FPSDemo comes with a pdf, if you follow that you should get it working.
alaindumdum
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 18:29

Postby alaindumdum » 10 Oct 2011, 06:18

yes BUT ,...
0- I tried many ways since months , from M2H , Zerano , Unity examples , virtual autonomy etc etc
1 - I installed Electrotank, SFSPRO and then 3 times SFS2x.
Why 3 times , because it took me a long stress to fix things.
For example to see that my 8080 was used on my Linux server , so I changed it in the jetty.
One time I change the script of the SimpleChat and after that I was unable to correct it ( my changing was

incorrect).
Well , after all that I think that my last installing is OK ,
except it has not the SimpleChat in the monitor config.
Reason why I used GameLobby.
But that needs to add The Lobby in.
I dont want to reinstallm all a 4th time , reason why I am here to ask.
Thanx for your patience.

So ....
1 ---How to set up a room in GameLobby ???

OR , how to get SimpleChat ???


I uploaded the fpsExtension as said in the PDF.


Image

The PDF says "The FPS extension is now loaded and ready to use."
But I guess I have more to do , no ?????

In the Zone extension of the SimpleChat I wrote :
Name , sfsFps
but I dont understand what to write for "File".
And : is anything to write for "Properties file" ???


Plus : please , appels and guys , could you tell me too if my WebPlayer is working ,
I had been just able to check it at home , with 2 puters ,
but not with friends outside.

Anyways my logs seems OK ,
and I think I am on the good way ...(?)

Merci
appels
Posts: 464
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 02:12
Contact:

Postby appels » 10 Oct 2011, 08:17

The webplayer works. I'm able to get in the lobby and chat.
Start a new game didn't do anything.
alaindumdum
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 18:29

Postby alaindumdum » 10 Oct 2011, 08:39

OK Thank you.

And yes my GameLobby I use has no room inside .

so...please :

So ....
1 ---How to set up a room in GameLobby ???

OR , how to get SimpleChat ???


I uploaded the fpsExtension as said in the PDF.

The PDF says "The FPS extension is now loaded and ready to use."
But I guess I have more to do , no ?????

In the Zone extension of the SimpleChat I wrote :
Name , sfsFps
but I dont understand what to write for "File".
And : is anything to write for "Properties file" ???
appels
Posts: 464
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 02:12
Contact:

Postby appels » 10 Oct 2011, 13:20

well if you look in the fps demo Unity side you will see that the client sends a create room request and joins it.
you can also create a room through your extension.
alaindumdum
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 18:29

Postby alaindumdum » 10 Oct 2011, 15:13

appels wrote:you can also create a room through your extension.

scuse but for the moment I dont understand how to create it
and yes , I have read the docs .
just need more help
alaindumdum
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 18:29

Postby alaindumdum » 10 Oct 2011, 20:08

Well ,
I guess that you are not many here to take time to read what follow ,
but I guess it could be useful for smartfox ,(?)
so I go :

I come from VRML ( in 2002) ( and before from DukeNukem Editor and Unreal Editor)
and I beagan to move to unity3d in 2009 , searching to have a 3D chat as "we" had for vrml ( blaxxun chat).

After some tryings in 2009 I spent june to october 2011 to try many ways with unity.
If you take a look at the pages here ( at the end ,
may or june to october , you will understand )

http://alaindumenieu.pagesperso-orange.fr/artvrml/introartvrml.htm


I spent millions of hours - crying- to read docs and forums etc.
I am an art teacher and not a programer.
And my server is Linux ( re crying ).


WHY IT IS NOT SIMPLE for guys like me ?
One of the reasons is because ,when you find some help ,
it is not often for the same version you have.
Or for the same OS you have , etc etc.

REASON why I had been Lost with smartfox too .
Installing SMartfox PRO , then SFS2x-Rc1 etc etc

Example :
today I tried to add a room , following the docs ,
and my GameLobby in the Zone configurator disappeared :(
by mistake but I dont know why.

So my chat was not able to connect it , of course.
I thought first to reinstall for the 4th time ( see above)
SFSRC1 , but I decided to try the patch for RC3.
Hey , I succeeded !

So Now I have the JVM stettings panel in the admin tool ,
hourra!
and I must learn what it could do LOL
Because I saw tutorials about , and videos ones ,
but I havent that panel before.
Am I clear ??

It is just an example of how we could be lost with helps.

Who is reading that and understand me ,and my bad english,* send me a postcard for christmas !

* I forgot to tell you that video tutorials are in english , except exceptions ,
I read english and write it a bit , but I dont understand well the voices ....
Sorry to be french , vive la révolution ...

Well ,
for the moment I have the same questions:
how to add the sfsExtension.jar ,??
how to deploy it ? if it needs to be deployed...
see my posts above and sorry to bore you.

Anyways I got a friend on my chat today ,

Image


so I say MERCI smartfox , because I just spent millions of hours to get that , LOL,
and it is the way - smartfox - I could get something OK ...

The only way after trying Photon , M2H tuto etc etc

( I dont ask money for that advertising for Smartfox LOL )

( and ....don't kick me please)
User avatar
Bax
Site Admin
Posts: 4460
Joined: 29 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby Bax » 12 Oct 2011, 08:41

alaindumdum, like any other alive product, SFS2X evolves. In fact it is still a Release Candidate. For this reason you should keep updated, at least until the final version will be out.

About your question "how to add an extension", you should really check the documentation, starting from here: http://docs2x.smartfoxserver.com/DevelopmentBasics/writing-extensions
Paolo Bax
The SmartFoxServer Team
alaindumdum
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 18:29

Postby alaindumdum » 12 Oct 2011, 10:57

Thank you bax.
Ok about the releases...

1 - Well, about the extensions,

the NetworkManger.cs says

Code: Select all

public readonly static string ExtName = "sfsFps"; 
// The server extension we work with
public readonly static string ExtClass = "dk.fullcontrol.fps.FpsExtension";
// The class name of the extension


and it is what I have in my AdminTool for "SimpleChat" and "The Lobby"

HAVE I to write something in the "Properties file" ?????????

2 - What is strange is that the same script
says

Code: Select all

void Start() {
      smartFox = SmartFoxConnection.Connection;
      if (smartFox == null) {
         Application.LoadLevel("lobby");
         return;
      }


...............

but the room in SimpleChat is "The Lobby"

and the level to be loaded is "game.unity"...so ..."game".????

Am I wrong ? is it normal .....that ...LoadLevel("lobby") ????

............

BTW I get in the console

Code: Select all

Debug.Log("On Connection callback got: " + success + " (error : <" + error + ">)");


and often ( but not always)

Code: Select all

 <General exception on connection: Unable to connect, as no valid crossdomain policy was found   at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Connect_internal (IntPtr sock, System.Net.SocketAddress sa, System.Int32& error, Boolean requireSocketPolicyFile) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0



.....

I have also read
http://www.smartfoxserver.com/whitepapers/fp_security/

but I dont understand how to use the tips below and where,
and it is for SFSPro , I guess ( "config.xml doenst exist on sfs2x , is it the same for "server.xml ???)

Code: Select all

<AutoSendPolicyFile>true</AutoSendPolicyFile>
.........

Actionscript 2.0:

   System.security.loadPolicyFile("xmlsocket://socketserver.net:9339")
Actionscript 3.0:

   Security.loadPolicyFile("xmlsocket://socketserver.net:9339")



Anyways I dont understand too where is my socketserver , have I one ? LOL
.............................

Last but not least ,
I made a test downloading the SFS2X-Lobby example
( there is no 3d world but I wanted to check and understand)
so I configured it with my server IP and port , it works in the editor but no in a webplayer..
( not forgetting "run in background")


arrivederci and thanx in advance
appels
Posts: 464
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 02:12
Contact:

Postby appels » 12 Oct 2011, 13:03

To be able to connect from the webplayer to SFS you need to have policy validation. You can read more about it here :
http://www.smartfoxserver.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=8878
Sort of the same system as in flash.
alaindumdum
Posts: 17
Joined: 09 Oct 2011, 18:29

Postby alaindumdum » 12 Oct 2011, 13:32

wow perfect , merciiii

BTW I tried to copy
Security.PrefetchSocketPolicy(serverIP, serverPort);

yesterday , but it was not in the right place.
And I now changed serverIP to serverName,
because it was in the code

Code: Select all

public class LobbyGUI : MonoBehaviour
{
   public string serverName = "87.98.158.40";


I will upload the webPlayer , stay around , LOL

- just joke-
anyways I will add that in the sfsFps stuff , I will see ....
cross fingers

Return to “SFS2X C# API”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests