Server Side Game Map - Array or Other Object

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

Gusy

Server Side Game Map - Array or Other Object

Postby Gusy » 04 Dec 2010, 16:04

I'm sorry this is such a vague question. I'm fairly new to game programming in general, and I'm looking for an opinion on design. I'm hoping this is the appropriate place to ask, because it deals with a data structure that will be used in my DB, in Java on the server, in Actionscript on the Client, and passed between the two by SFS2.

I have a rudimentary multiplayer game partially created, so I've gotten a little bit of experience with all four technologies over the course of a month. I want to add something complex. Right now I just have a little client side tilemap which makes up the ground that my players see. It is 2D, top down, so the map will theoretically go out a ways in both the X and Y axis.

I'd like to start storing the entire map, and make it quite large, in my MySQL database on the server side. I want to do this becuse I want to make it somewhat dynamic, allowing both player modifications and some other changes at regular intervals. The tile map is basically a 2D array of integers. every tile is square and the same size. So it is as simple as:

etc.

However, I don't want to load the whole map down to the client, I just want to load chuncks based on where the player is. I know this isn't an uncommon practce, and I think I can handle the implementation.