Disconnecting properly in Unity

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

berry

Disconnecting properly in Unity

Postby berry » 28 Sep 2010, 11:46

Hi,
I'm working on a test project in Unity 2.6 with SFS2Xb14. So far I've basicsly just setup an example-application to figure out how everything works, since I'm still new to both Unity and SmartFox (, not to programming though). Currently I've got a simple gameobject for each client to move around while updating this movement on the other clients in the same room.
Though everything seems to be working like it should in-game, the Unity editor will crash a while after closing the application. After stopping it I can see Unity starts building up memory consumption in the windows taskmangager and freezes or crashes after a while. When running a webbuild of this app, Firefix also crashes a lot after closing the tab the application was running in.

Currently I'm using the follow statements to quit:

OnApplicationQuit() {
smartFox.RemoveAllEventListeners();
if ( smartFox.IsConnected )
smartFox.Disconnect();
}

With 'smartFox' being an instance of SmartFoxClient.

Does anyone have the same issue or know how to fix this? I'm really running out of ideas here, so any help or new insights on the situation would be appreciated.

Thanks...
ThomasLund

Postby ThomasLund » 28 Sep 2010, 12:39

Hey,

Yeah - basically the message from Unity support is "dont use sockets with 2.6 as closing them can cause hangs and crashes".

There is no workaround and no fix - except to upgrade to Unity 3 (released yesterday)

Sorry

/Thomas
berry

Postby berry » 28 Sep 2010, 12:46

Hmm.. I see..

Thnx for the reply. I'll look into switching to Unity3 then :D .

EDIT: