Max users number

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

sadensmol
Posts: 23
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 05:25

Max users number

Postby sadensmol » 16 Apr 2019, 11:59

Hi, we need the way to programmatically detect when we are approaching to the license limit.

If we have maxUsers setup to 50k but only free license why zone.getMaxAllowedUsers() returns us 50k if server allows only 100 users to be connected with free license?

What method could I use to get the REAL NUMBER OF ALLOWED TO CONNECT USERS?
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21077
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Max users number

Postby Lapo » 16 Apr 2019, 14:23

Hi,
the maxAllowedUsers corresponds to what you have configured in the respective option under AdminTool > Server Configurator. This value serves as a limiter for a specific Zone. If you set it to 500, it will start refusing logins when 500 users are already logged-in in that particular Zone.

This is regardless of what your license limit is.

We don't expose an API to query the system and obtain the limit of your license.
You could store the value of your license limit in a database or local file, and query that from your Extension from time to time to check if you're approaching the value.

Hope it helps

p.s. = an email notification system already exist for this task. It's found under AdminTool > License Manager
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
sadensmol
Posts: 23
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 05:25

Re: Max users number

Postby sadensmol » 17 Apr 2019, 11:00

Hi, Lapo.

It feels so bad!!!

you're providing max number of allowed users, but we have a problem with license we don't know about that! and you shows us a wrong number - you
says this zone could handle 50k users but in real it handles only 100 users (as for free license).

we don't use your smtp server functionality and have own ways to notify about problems with the server.
Is there any way to ask you about changing your getMaxAllowedUsers() method to count on license limitation to have correct results?
Thanks.
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21077
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Max users number

Postby Lapo » 17 Apr 2019, 13:28

Is your license CCU setting changing very often?

Thanks
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
sadensmol
Posts: 23
Joined: 20 Feb 2018, 05:25

Re: Max users number

Postby sadensmol » 18 Apr 2019, 16:26

Hello.

yes, we have 2 licenses at the moment
but moving them between servers.
also we are planning to add more servers in future and we need to monitor this users limitation stuff.
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21077
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Max users number

Postby Lapo » 19 Apr 2019, 08:29

We're looking into it.
We'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Cheers
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
User avatar
Bax
Site Admin
Posts: 4479
Joined: 29 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Max users number

Postby Bax » 19 Apr 2019, 14:31

sadensmol, can you please contact us by email. We may have a solution to discuss with you.
Please send an email at info AT smartfoxserver DOT com referencing this topic, thanks.
Paolo Bax
The SmartFoxServer Team

Return to “SFS2X Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests