Admin tool user stats

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

rparker
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 09:10

Admin tool user stats

Postby rparker » 11 Jul 2012, 23:33

Hello,

I've noticed some possible incorrect data in the "User stats" section under the User management tab when monitoring a user in the admin tool. In the Written data graph it is showing thousands of Gigabytes of data being written to the client. This seems quite impossible since the total data sent by the server at the time was in the 300 MB range. We are using version 2.0.1 of the server and we are using UDP to send some data to the client.
User avatar
Bax
Site Admin
Posts: 4522
Joined: 29 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby Bax » 12 Jul 2012, 08:13

Can you please show a screenshot?
Paolo Bax
The SmartFoxServer Team
rparker
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 09:10

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby rparker » 13 Jul 2012, 03:31

Screen shot 2012-07-12 at 8.15.52 PM.png
(139.93 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby Lapo » 13 Jul 2012, 11:21

Thats 2.4 Terabytes, in three hours... sounds like a lot :D
We have never seen something like this before, nor we have other reports, so it's not easy to say what it could be.
I was wondering if all those three users had the same problem? Did you check?
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
rparker
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 09:10

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby rparker » 19 Jul 2012, 03:43

Sorry for delay here. Yes, all the users on the system seem to have the issue whenever I have checked. Attached is the progression of one user over the period of a little more than 20sec.
Attachments
Screen shot 2012-07-18 at 8.19.19 PM.png
(141.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen shot 2012-07-18 at 8.19.08 PM.png
(142.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen shot 2012-07-18 at 8.18.55 PM.png
(142.29 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by rparker on 19 Jul 2012, 03:54, edited 1 time in total.
rparker
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 09:10

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby rparker » 19 Jul 2012, 03:48

Here is another user that was also on the server during that time.
Attachments
Screen shot 2012-07-18 at 8.19.41 PM.png
(141.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby Lapo » 19 Jul 2012, 08:58

Does this happen to all clients? Is there any other info that you can add?
Is this a local server or a production one?
How many concurrent clients there were during the test?
Also, can you briefly what your game/application does?

Thanks
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
rparker
Posts: 19
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 09:10

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby rparker » 19 Jul 2012, 10:05

This happens to all the admin clients that I have tried, 2 or three different machines. This is a production server (but I can see the same using our local dev server as well). Number of users on the system does not matter. This is a 3D MMO world with Unity clients. We are sending positional updates to the clients via UDP, and other data via TCP. Number of people in a room will amplify the growth, but even after an initial login going into a room alone shows the amount sent as 3.6 GB. Almost seems like a labeling issue... Maybe it's KB instead of GB.
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby Lapo » 19 Jul 2012, 10:12

Yes it definitely sounds like a problem of scale, we'll investigate.
Thanks
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games
User avatar
Lapo
Site Admin
Posts: 21723
Joined: 21 Mar 2005, 09:50
Location: Italy

Re: Admin tool user stats

Postby Lapo » 19 Jul 2012, 10:32

We have an online FPS (the Unity FPS demo), so I played I while with it monitoring the users via admin tool but everything was just fine.
Would it be possible to get an account for your game an a temporary access to the AdminTool?
At least we could see the problem in action and maybe some idea will pop up... at the moment we are clueless.

Thanks
p.s. = if so, contact us directly: support@... with a reference to this topic.
Lapo

--

gotoAndPlay()

...addicted to flash games

Return to “SFS2X Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests