Good VPS hosting service provider

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

gauravS

Good VPS hosting service provider

Postby gauravS » 12 Jun 2012, 07:34

Hi all,

I am new to forums here. I have developed a turn based game using SFS2x community edition but I just cant seem to find an affordable host for hosting the game. I have been on a shared host for quite sometime (3 yrs) and I dont think its advisable to run a multiplayer game on a shared host. Also there are many technical blockages like JVM installed there is 1.5 and SFS2x requires JVM1.6.
I searched forums here a lot and read about rackspace and amazon aws service but they look costly and I do not want to go for cloud hosting right now but a regular VPS provider should do.
So I want to buy a good VPS host around $20 - $30 a month. I am new to linux world, so I would need help in setting some stuff up like installing JVM1.6 there,so the support of VPS should be good. This price is low as I might need to take the SFS2x 500 users license after hitting more than 100CCU, so I need to accommodate for that :)
If anyone here knows a good VPS service they might be using for running SFS games, please do let me know as I am already running short on time and game is all set.

Thanks,
Gaurav
Lapo
Site Admin

Re: Good VPS hosting service provider

Postby Lapo » 12 Jun 2012, 12:50

Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
gauravS

Postby gauravS » 12 Jun 2012, 15:20

Hi Lapo,