Grabbing movieclips from a database

Need help with SmartFoxServer? You didn't find an answer in our documentation? Please, post your questions here!

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

IcarusII

Grabbing movieclips from a database

Postby IcarusII » 26 Aug 2008, 03:04

Hi, i was wondering how you would store and access single movieclips from a database. I want to bring certain movieclips in based on what the user has specified, but im not exactly sure how to do this.

Im very new to using databases, so please be nice :P
Lapo
Site Admin

Postby Lapo » 26 Aug 2008, 12:29

Problem is ... there's no way you can store a movieclip outside of a SWF file, so this is not possible.
You might want to store an entire SWF file as BLOB in the database ... but you must have your own very good reasons for doing so.
Not that is a bad thing, but you should aware of what you are doing and why.
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
orthiac

Postby orthiac » 26 Aug 2008, 12:36

Another alternative would be to store the name of the clip in the database. Then use it in a load routine. You would only need to make sure your class linkage is set in the original swf.
This would also cut down on the db access time.

- Mike
IcarusII

Postby IcarusII » 26 Aug 2008, 18:45

Im worried about load times for my main app so i would like to keep a lot of the art outside and only access it when i need to. Although now that i think if it, im building an app that has multiple users and they will all have different artwork on them so i would probably need to store the art in the main app anyways.

*sigh*

Can you please explain what a BLOB is. I thought of storing a SWF with all the artwork in the database before, but im also not sure how i would go about doing that.
orthiac

Postby orthiac » 26 Aug 2008, 19:14

To keep the main app thinner, what I do is create separate swf's that I load into the main app. Those would contain the "art" you are requesting.