how to get 2nd avatar (other user) coordinate

Post here your questions about the OpenSpace 1.x or notify bugs and suggestions.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

krazl

how to get 2nd avatar (other user) coordinate

Postby krazl » 22 Aug 2009, 01:28

Hi all.. i'm new to open space so please get used to all my silly questions. :lol:

Is ther anyway we could retrieve 2nd avatar (other user) position. any pseudo code perhaps?

i've added below.

Code: Select all

this.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, onClick);

public function set isMyAvatar(myAv:Boolean):void
{
   _isMyAvatar = myAv
}

public function onClick(evt:MouseEvent):void
{
   trace("clicked")
   if(!_isMyAvatar)
        {
      trace("not my avatar")
        }
}

public function onMovementStop(evt:AvatarEvent):void
{
        var pemalarB:Object = detectTilePosition()
   trace("My Position = (" + pemalarB.px +","+ pemalarB.py +")")
}

function detectTilePosition():Object
{
   var myPost:Object = {}

myPost.px = evt["params"].tile.px;
   myPost.py = evt["params"].tile.py;
   myPost.pz = evt["params"].tile.pz;
   return myPost
}

On myAvatar i could produce my coordinate... but not for other user Avatar.. Anything i've missed?

Thx in advance
Lapo
Site Admin

Postby Lapo » 25 Aug 2009, 07:24

Hi,
yes you have Avatar Events, so all you need to do is register a user for events such as ENTER_TILE.
When the event fires it will pass you the Tile object on which the Avatar is located and from there you can get coordinates etc...

Make sure to check the docs.
Lapo
--
gotoAndPlay()
...addicted to flash games
krazl

Postby krazl » 26 Aug 2009, 00:31

Thx pal.. i manage to get everything now by triggering onClickEvents. Please note that we need to have Global variable to store their position.

I'm wondering how are we going trace other Avatar position when we entering new room. sending message? Anyone have success done this? any psedo code will help. Thx

Lapo wrote:Hi,