red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Post your questions and bug-reports about the audio/video streaming add-on based on Red5 Media Server.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

supermk88
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 12:30

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby supermk88 » 14 Mar 2013, 17:21

My friend have test the webcam and it say that now is fast (but he have 14mega of bandwidth, when he try to use speedtest with webcam opened he receive the error (for lack of bandwidth i think..) but why smartfox "resist" and red5 no?:P there is nothing to do for remain connected also when you have some seconds of bad bandwidth?
supermk88
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 12:30

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby supermk88 » 15 Mar 2013, 01:14

Hmmm i have open 4 webcam from this pc and 4 from my other pc and connected with lan and my line being really slow.. (and i have 10mega). Maybe who have only 2mega of bandwidth can have some problem so the cause can be of the plugin used for show the webcam? maybe it use too much bandwidth and client can't handle this with also all message receive from smartfox and crash, my brother say that his friend with bad line crashed 50 times always when try to open webcam after some seconds. I have try to open 6 webcam also in other chat with webcam and my line was more fast (sorry for english :P). Maybe is the reason of crash
User avatar
rjgtav
Posts: 2813
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:31
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby rjgtav » 16 Mar 2013, 13:38

Hello, sorry for the delay.

Well, I didn't have the time to test this yet, but all my searches and by reading your results I can only say that the problem is with the internet connection of the user which is experiencing the crashes, as his internet connection isn't able to handle the amount of data that is constantly being sent and received between the client and the server.
That said, you can't do much about it, as the problem is on the user side.
Maybe you can play a little with the properties of the Camera instance, like for example decreasing the quality and decreasing the framerate, etc.
You can find more information on Adobe's official documentation at:
http://help.adobe.com/en_US/FlashPlatfo ... amera.html

Cheers
Skills: SFS Pro, SFS2X, AS2.0/AS3.0, Java, HTML5/CSS3/JS, C#
Portfolio: https://rjgtav.wordpress.com/
SFS Tutorials: http://sfs-tutor.blogspot.com/ - Discontinued. Some examples may be bugged.
supermk88
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 12:30

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby supermk88 » 16 Mar 2013, 22:59

Good i have thought the same thing and i have just finished to limit the bandwidth (it was more than 200kbps the usage of 1 webcam now is 100kbps) i see that is better hope that client don't being disconnect now :P
User avatar
rjgtav
Posts: 2813
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:31
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby rjgtav » 17 Mar 2013, 13:00

Great! How did you decrease the rate at which data is sent from 1 webcam? By changing the quality?

Thanks
Skills: SFS Pro, SFS2X, AS2.0/AS3.0, Java, HTML5/CSS3/JS, C#
Portfolio: https://rjgtav.wordpress.com/
SFS Tutorials: http://sfs-tutor.blogspot.com/ - Discontinued. Some examples may be bugged.
supermk88
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 12:30

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby supermk88 » 17 Mar 2013, 15:55

Yes using the code camera.setquality (10000, 0) that use 100kbps of bandwidth (isn't very high quality but i see very good).
I have try to remain connected for some hours and now that there are 50 user it seems that the server cannot handle so much request and send me the error for disconnection of redbox.. is possible that a quadcore 2.40ghz with 8gb of ram can't handle smartfox red5 and the database? thx ^^
supermk88
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 12:30

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby supermk88 » 17 Mar 2013, 18:40

Ok maybe i have understand something that can be heavy for the server.. i forgot that i have for only user an array that store all private request but i forget to put a timer that cancel after 5min a request from the array.. so if user is away and he/she receive like 100/200 request it can make some problem for the server right? and the array that store the output text in the chat can be heavy?

Or is only heavy for the client have this array?
supermk88
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 12:30

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby supermk88 » 19 Mar 2013, 08:41

Ok yesterday we have test again with more people (and i have do a little stress test; 50 user into a room that speak every 5sec) and the server handle it without dropped message and in other room people can join without problem :D the only bad thing is that with strange error that i received after some hours when i try to open webcam:

Image

How can i fix it? i have read a similar problem here http://red5.5842.n7.nabble.com/Is-this- ... 13216.html but i don't understand how to fix it ^^ thx
User avatar
rjgtav
Posts: 2813
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 11:31
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby rjgtav » 19 Mar 2013, 10:48

Hello, great that the tests are going fine.

Regarding your error... Can you try using the latest source from the SVN repo? You can find it there: http://code.google.com/p/red5/
Can you please post the stack-trace? It's the lines starting with "at" before the line where it shows the error message.

Thanks
Skills: SFS Pro, SFS2X, AS2.0/AS3.0, Java, HTML5/CSS3/JS, C#
Portfolio: https://rjgtav.wordpress.com/
SFS Tutorials: http://sfs-tutor.blogspot.com/ - Discontinued. Some examples may be bugged.
supermk88
Posts: 239
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 12:30

Re: red5 disconnect user for too much inactivity

Postby supermk88 » 19 Mar 2013, 11:48

Hello ^^ i try to download the last release of red5 but don't think is compatible with smartfox 1x.. with red5 1.0.0 rc1 users say that being disconnected from smartfox sometimes, i forget to make a stamp of previous log sorry (the version of red5 that give smartfox don't save log), when i receive that error again i make photo ^^

Return to “RedBox”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest