New to SmartFox and struggling a bit

Post here your questions about the Unity / .Net / Mono / Windows 8 / Windows Phone 8 API for SFS2X

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

bnolte

New to SmartFox and struggling a bit

Postby bnolte » 29 Sep 2015, 12:13

Hello everyone,

As stated in the subject I am new to SmartFox and have been trying to work up a Unity project and cross referencing the tutorials as I go/ need them. To be honest I have not made it very far because of what I am sure is one simple detail I forgot or missed.

Originialy I was trying to convert a game I was working on to a multiplayer game by using SmartFox. The game only consisted of 2 scenes so far. The first scene was the log in scene. This scene connected to a vps with a MySQL database and the scene handled account creation, account login authentication, character selection, and then load in the second scene.

The second scene was the first "hub" city. on load of the scene the selected character information was read and the appropriate character model was instantiated from a prefab.

Once I started attempting to incorporate SmartFox into the project I added the connection to the login scene. Originally I had done a login to the SmartFox server and if that was successful a logout and clear of all event listeners occurred prior to loading the next scene.

The next scene would in turn log back into the SmartFox server, and join the room. The whole point of the login logout login again was to verify the client could connect and log in to SmartFox before loading the game scene. At that point everything was going well. The room was joined an don join the player was instantiated.