Lobby (Unity) example partly fails

Post here your questions about the Unity / .Net / Mono / Windows 8 / Windows Phone 8 API for SFS2X

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

CaptainBob

Lobby (Unity) example partly fails

Postby CaptainBob » 26 Apr 2013, 14:14

This is probably a true newbie error. I'm just learning both Unity and SmartFoxServer 2x.

I'm trying to work through the examples to confirm that they work and that my remote Ubuntu server is set up correctly. (Actually, I had SmartFoxServer consultants set up the server and install SmartFoxServer, so it's probably mostly OK except for something I can configure.)

I can get the first Unity example, a basic CONNECTOR, to work fine, both on my Windows 7 (64-bit) Dell with Apache2 and the latest version of SFS2X. Even the second example, "LOBBY" works fine on the Windows 7 laptop, run with server=127.0.0.1 and accessed from two different accounts, "we" can create a lobby, see each other in the list of users, and exchange messages.

So, the basic CONNECTOR code is working.

I opened the project in Unity and changed the hard-coded server address from "127.0.0.1" to "vm22.isointeractive.com", and rebuilt the Unity WebPlayer build. (This is exactly what I had just done successfully for the CONNECTOR example.)

Then I copied the 2 built files to the webserver root (htdocs) folder on my remote server, the same folder containing index.html and the connector.html file (and unity3d file) that works fine from there.

Here's the results:

* If I access the remote server from two different accounts on my laptop, using FireFox current version as a browser, the LOBBY example works fine, as it did locally. My two users can see each other, exchange messages, etc.