Few questions.

Post here your questions about SFS2X. Here we discuss all server-side matters. For client API questions see the dedicated forums.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

KVADRO

Few questions.

Postby KVADRO » 06 Jan 2018, 10:46

Hello World!
I'm new to SFS2X, so, i have few questions.

1) Is it a good idea to have one lobby( room ) for all players( event, for example, if my CCU is 10'000 ) in server, or i should balance them ( players ) to different lobbies( rooms ) by max count ( for example one lobby can contain maximum 200 players ) ?

2) In matchmaking process i have opponent search timer, and if this timer drops to 0, i generate NPC opponent and start game. Currently logic is:

- Player send START_MATCHMAKING_REQUEST, lobby extension handle it and try to find avaliable room. If not, new room with extension will be created and player will be placed there.
- After room was created, room's extension start delayed task for 30 seconds, and if opponent will not be found, task will init game with NPC.

Is this a good approach for such logic, or i should perform another steps?

Thanks in advance.
Lapo
Site Admin

Re: Few questions.

Postby Lapo » 06 Jan 2018, 13:57

Hello,
KVADRO wrote:1) Is it a good idea to have one lobby( room ) for all players( event, for example, if my CCU is 10'000 ) in server, or i should balance them ( players ) to different lobbies( rooms ) by max count ( for example one lobby can contain maximum 200 players ) ?

It depends: if your players need to interact with each other (e.g. chat) then thousands of players chatting in the same Room will generate massive network traffic, as every message needs to be relayed to everyone. Also events such as USER_ENTER_ROOM and USER_EXIT_ROOM will similarly create too much traffic.

Maybe it would be best to have multiple lobbies maybe splitting users by language, skill, region, game faction or similar parameters that exist in your game.