Post here your questions about the OpenSpace 1.x or notify bugs and suggestions.

Moderators: Lapo, Bax

morsus

Postby morsus » 02 Nov 2008, 14:09

I've noticed there are specific sections for clothing (bust + legs). My question is: if I wanted to have an avatar change the number (5) on the shirt in the example, would I need a graphic for each possible number?

1. Shirt with 1
2. Shirt with 2
3. Shirt with 3
etc

It would be nice to implement a layered look, so I could just cover the layers, because adding a new shirt color to the mix would mean an additional 10 graphical elements. Then if I wanted different color numbers, and maybe long sleeve and short sleeve shirts, now you're looking at a lot of additional graphics.

I'm not a designer, so all of these graphical options may not be as daunting a task as it seems.

It also may end up adding too much overhead with layered (mostly unseen) graphical elements. Although you mention converting vector to bitmap on the OS faq, but that's for another post.

Thanks in advance.
Senshi

Postby Senshi » 02 Nov 2008, 21:46

Hey Morsus,

I've been wondering the same thing and was actually just about to make a topic for this. However, I would also like to know one other thing with it, which is whether or not it is possible to use MovieClips instead of images for the clothing, hair, etc. I hope you don't mind me asking it here, because it felt sort of pointless making another topic for something so similar ;)

~Senshi

PS: Even though I'm new as well, welcome on the forum xD
function signature():void{
if(currentsig == boring){
readervoteboring+=1;}
else if(currentsig == ok){
readervotekeep+=1;}}
public var readervoteboring:Number = 0;
public var readervotekeep:Number = 0;
Bax
Site Admin

Postby Bax » 03 Nov 2008, 08:32

How to create the avatar is left up to you, by creating your custom AvatarMovieClip class. We provided just a simple example, as everyone has different needs regarding the avatar.